Skip Navigation

Directory


Jump to: Faculty |Other Faculty |Staff | Graduate Students | Alumni

Faculty

Back to top

Betsy M. Bryan
Alexander Badawy Chair in Egyptian Art and Archaeology, Professor

betsy.bryan@jhu.edu
(410) 516-8402

Paul A. Delnero
Assistant Professor of Assyriology

pdelner1@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7499

Marian Feldman
Professor of History of Art & Near Eastern Studies
Ancient Near East and Eastern Mediterranean Art

mfeldm20@jhu.edu
(410)516-7117

Michael Harrower
Assistant Professor of Archaeology

mharrower@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7500

Richard Jasnow
Professor of Egyptology

rjasnow@jhu.edu
(410) 516-8675

Jacob Lauinger
Assistant Professor of Assyriology

jlauing1@jhu.edu
(410) 516-5220

Theodore J. Lewis
Blum-Iwry Professor of Near Eastern Studies

tjl@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6791

P. Kyle McCarter, Jr.
William Foxwell Albright Chair in Biblical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Professor

pkm@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6106

Glenn M. Schwartz
Whiting Professor of Archaeology
Director, Undergraduate Archaeology Major
and Department Chair

schwartz@jhu.edu
(410) 516-8492

Other Faculty

Back to top

Sanchita Balachandran
Art and Archaeological Conservation
Lecturer
sbalach4@jhu.edu

Jerrold S. Cooper
W.W. Spence Professor Emeritus of Semitic Languages
anzu@jhu.edu

 

Hans Goedicke
Professor Emeritus

 

David Katz
Visiting Professor

profdkatz@gmail.com
(410) 516-7499

Susan McCarter
Adjunct Assistant Professor

smccart@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7499

Ellen Robbins
Lecturer

erobbins@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7499

 

Melinda Zeder
Adjunct Professor
Near East Archaeology, Zooarchaeology, Pastoralism, Origins of Agriculture

zederm@si.edu

  
 

 

Staff

Back to top
 Vonnie Wild
Academic Department Coordinator
vwild@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7499
 Glenda Hogan
Academic Program Coordinator
ghogan@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7394
 

Jason Oliver
Lan Administrator
Jason.Oliver@jhu.edu
(410) 516-3479

 

Lisa Anderson
Conservation Technician
(410) 516-0383

 

Don Juedes
Research Services Librarian
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
djuedes@jhu.edu
(410) 516-0605

Graduate Students

Back to top
 Adam Bean
Hebrew Bible & Northwest Semitic Philology
abean5@jhu.edu
M.Div.: (Hebrew Bible) Emmanuel School of Religion (2011)
B.A.: (Biblical Studies) Johnson University (2007)
 

Joshua Bowen
Assyriology
Jbowen15@jhu.edu

 

Christopher Brinker
Near Eastern Archaeology
cdbrinker@jhu.edu

B.A.: Archaeology and Biological Anthropology, Boston University (2006)
Interests: Early and Middle Bronze Age Syria-Palestine, Archaeological Population Studies, Bone Pathologies

 

Karen (Maggie) Bryson
Egyptology
kbryson2@jhu.edu

 

Katie Cobb
Egyptology
katie.cobb@jhu.edu

B.A.: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, Yale University (2009)

 Katherine Davis
Egyptology
 Ioana Dumitru
Near Eastern Archaeology
B.A.: Classical and Near Eastern Archaeology and Philosophy, Bryn Mawr College (2011)

 

Tiffany Earley-Spadoni
Near Eastern Archaeology
tiffanyspadoni@jhu.edu
M.A.: Near Eastern Studies, Johns Hopkins University (2011)

B.A.: Comparative Literature, University of Georgia (2000)

Interests: literary studies, theoretical approaches, empires/frontiers, bioarchaeology, landscape archaeology, archaeometry

 

Marina Escolano Poveda
Egyptology

marina.escolano@jhu.edu
Licenciatura en Historia: Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (2009)
Fulbright Grantee http://www.fulbright.es

 Justin E. Estrada
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
jestrad7@jhu.edu
M.A.:  Durham University (2013)
M.St.: University of Oxford (2010)
M.Div.: Reformed Theological Seminary (2009)
B.A.:    University of Pennsylvania (2006)
 

Ashley Fiutko
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
a.fiutko@jhu.edu

B.A.: Ancient Egyptian and Near Eastern Art and Archaeology and Classics, University of California, Berkeley (2007)

 

Meredith Fraser
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
merefraser@jhu.edu

B.A.: Classical Archaeology, The University of Texas at Austin (2006)

 Rania Galal Darwish Suliman
Egyptology
rgalald1@jhu.edu
M.A.:  Johns Hopkins University (2014)
B.A.:  Helwan University (2008)
 Anna Glenn
Assyriology
 

Erin Guinn-Villareal
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
egv@jhu.edu

B.A.: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, The University of Chicago (2009)

 

J. Caleb Howard

Assyriology

jhowar36@jhu.edu

 

Peter (Joong) Lee

Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology

Th.M., Princeton Theological Seminary (2007)

M.Div., Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary (1992)

SM/SB, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1986)

 Megan H. C. Lewis
Assyriology
mlewis74@jhu.edu
M.Phil.: Near Eastern and Cuneiform Studies, The University of Birmingham (2011)
B.A.: Ancient History, The University of Birmingham (2010)
Interests: Mythology, religion and literature
 Rosanne Liebermann
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
rlieber7@jhu.edu
BA: Theology, University of Oxford (2013)
 Kathryn Medill
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
kmedill1@jhu.edu
M.A.:  Linguistics, Indiana University (2014)
B.A.:  Biblical Languages and Linguistics, Geneva College (2011)
 William Reed
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology

 

David Rosenstein
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
helix2k@aol.com

 

Michael Simone, S.J.
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
msimone2@jhu.edu

S.T.L.: Patristic Theology, Weston Jesuit School of Theology (2008)
M.Div.: Weston Jesuit School of Theology (2007)
B.A.: History, John Carroll University (1995)

Interests:Israelite aniconism, fire as divine symbol, the Deuteronomistic school, cognitive linguistics and metaphor

 Meg Swaney
Egyptology
mswaney2@jhu.edu
M.A.:  New York University (2013)
B.A.:  University of Chicago (2011)
 

Jennifer Swerida

Near Eastern Archaeology

 

John Thames, Jr.

Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology

M.A.R.: Hebrew Bible, Yale Divinity School (2010)

M.A.: Philosophy, Louisiana State University (2008)

B.A.: Religious Studies, Louisiana State University (2004)

Interests: early Israelite and Canaanite religion, Ugaritic studies, archaeology of the Levant

 Jill Waller
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
jwaller3@jhu.edu
B.A.: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago (2012)
 

Laura Wright
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
lwrigh27@jhu.edu

M.Div.: Princeton Theological Seminary (2004)
B.A.: Classics with primary emphasis in Greek, University of Missouri at Columbia (2001)

Interests: Northwest Semitic Iconography and Epigraphy

 Lingxin Zhang
Egyptology
lzhan100@jhu.edu
M.A.:  Indiana University (2014)
B.A.:  Tianjin Normal University (2012)

Alumni
Back to top

Recent Graduates:

 

 

2014

 

Adam Maskevich

Near Eastern Archaeology

maskevich@jhu.edu

 

 

 

2013

 

Erin Fleming
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology


Heather Dana Davis Parker

Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology

Ph.D. and Visiting Scholar, Near Eastern Studies

The Johns Hopkins University

heatherddparker@gmail.com

 

Jaime L. Waters

Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology

Assistant Professor

Department of Catholic Studies

DePaul University

jwater11@depaul.edu


Sarah Yukich
Near Eastern Archaeology
skoplik@jhu.edu

 

2012

  

Isabel Cranz
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
icranz@jhu.edu

 

Heath D. Dewrell
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
hdewrell@jhu.edu

 

Andrew Knapp
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
Marketing Director and Acquisitions Editor

Eisenbrauns

aknapp@eisenbrauns.com

 

 

 

 

 

2011

Dina El Gabry
Egyptian Art and Archeology
Asssitant Professor, Helwan University, Egypt

 

Scott Rufolo
Near Eastern Archaeology
International Research Fellow
Dahlem Humanities Center
Freie Universität Berlin

 

 

2010

Hossein Badamchi
Ancient Law
Assistant Professor
Department of History
University of Tehran
Enghelab Avenue, Tehran, Iran
mlbadamchi@yahoo.com

Andrew Davis
Hebrew Bible
Assistant Professor, Hebrew Bible
Seattle University

Ronan Head
Assyriology
Visiting Research Fellow in Ancient Law
Brigham Young University

Jeremy Pope
Egyptology, Egyptian Art
Assistant Professor
Lyon Gardiner Tyler Department of History
The College of William & Mary
jwpope@wm.edu

2009

Yasmin El Shazly
Egyptology
Head of Documentation
The Egyptian Museum
Tahrir Square, Cairo, Egypt

Alhussein A. Hussein
Egyptology, Egyptian Art and Archaeology
Director General
The Grand Egyptian Museum (GEM)

http://www.gem.gov.eg/

Conservation Center Building, Room AC 42-1

Al-Remaya Square

Giza Pyramids, Giza, Egypt

husseinbassir2001@yahoo.com; husseinbassir@gmail.com
 

Fatma Ismail
Egyptology
fatmatalat@hotmail.com

Jennifer Kimpton
Egyptology/Archaeology

Alexandra Kleinerman
Assyriology
Postdoctoral Fellow
Cornell University
ak235@cornell.edu

 

Jacquelyn Williamson
Egyptology, Egyptian Art
ACLS Post-Doctoral Lecturer
University of California, Berkeley
jgw@berkeley.edu

2008

Seung Il Kang
Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic Philology
Assistant Professor, Hannam University, South Korea
seungilkang@hotmail.com

DongGyw Lee
Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic Philology
Lecturer
Hansei University
donggyw.lee@jhu.edu

Elaine Sullivan
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
Postdoctoral Fellow
UCLA
elainesullivan1@hotmail.com

Andrew Yun
Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic Philology
andrewyun@jhu.edu

2007

Lance Allred
Assyriology
Curator, Cuneiform Section
The Green Collection
7707 SW 44th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73179
lance.allred@themotb.com

 

Elizabeth Waraksa
Egyptology
Lecturer
Loyola Marymount University
Department of Classics and Archaeology
University Hall
One LMU Drive, Suite 3700
Los Angeles, CA 90045-2659
Tel (310) 338-5706
Fax (310) 338-1947
ewaraksa@lmu.edu

2006

Yekaterina Barbash
Egyptian Art
Assistant Curator, Arts of Ancient Egypt
Brooklyn Museum
200 Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn, NY 11238-6052
T (718)-501-6285 F (718)-501-6140
yekaterina.barbash@brooklynmuseum.org

Alhena Gadotti
Assyriology
Assistant Professor
Department of History
Towson University
Linthicum Hall 119E
8000 York Road
Towson, MD 21252
AGadotti@towson.edu
alhena@jhu.edu

Nozomu Kawai
Egyptology
Associate Professor
Research Institute for Science & Engineering
Waseda University
Project Room for the Research in Egypt
907 Measurement 55-S
Waseda University, Okubo Campus
3-4-1 Okubo, Shinjuku-ku Tokyo, 169-8555, JAPAN
Phone/Fax +81-3-5286-3142
nozomu.kawai@aoni.waseda.jp

Yoo-Ki Kim
Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic Philology
Full-Time Instructor
Seoul Women's University
Seoul, Korea
ykim@swu.ac.kr

Tammy Krygier
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
takrygier@verizon.net

2005

Ishwaran Mudliar
Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic Philology
Assistant Professor of Old Testament
Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
P.O. Box 22386
Fort Worth, TX? 76122-0386
817-923-1921, ext. 4452
imudliar@swbts.edu

JJ Shirley
Egyptian Art & Archaeology
Researcher;
Managing Editor, Journal of Egyptian History
http://www.brill.nl/default.aspx?partid=212&pid=27057
jj.shirley@jhu.edu/ jj.shirley@gmail.com

2004

Violaine Chauvet
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
Assistant Professor (UK Lecturer) in Egyptology
School of Archaeology, Classics and Egyptology (SACE)
12 Abercromby Square
University of Liverpool
Liverpool L69 7WZ, UK
V.Chauvet@liverpool.ac.uk

Ken D. Fentress
Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic Philology
Dean of Intercultural Programs
Assistant Professor of Old Testament
The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
2825 Lexington Road
Louisville, Kentucky 40280
Office: 502-897-4863
kfentress@sbts.edu

Susanna Garfein
Hebrew Bible
Assistant Professor of Hebrew Bible and Northwest Semitic Languages,
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Program Director, Master of Arts in Jewish Studies
Towson University
SGarfein@towson.edu

John Nichols
Near Eastern Archaeology
kirmak@westinternet.net

Alice Petty
Archaeology
Academic Director
Undergraduate Advising and Research
Stanford University
aapetty@stanford.edu
damiqti@gmail.com

Click here for news about our alumni

Style DIV, please skip.

Style DIV, please skip.