Graduate Students

Adam Bean
Hebrew Bible & Northwest Semitic Philology
abean5@jhu.edu
MDiv: (Hebrew Bible) Emmanuel School of Religion (2011)
BA: (Biblical Studies) Johnson University (2007)

Michael Chapin
Assyriology
mchapin5@jhu.edu
BA: Cornell University (2015)

Greg Church
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
gchurch4@jhu.edu
MDiv: Westminster Theological Seminary, California (2015)
BA: Grove City College (2012)

Ioana Dumitru
Near Eastern Archaeology
BA: Classical and Near Eastern Archaeology and Philosophy, Bryn Mawr College (2011)

Richard J. L. Essam
Assyriology
ressam1@jhu.edu
MA: Assyriology, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (2015)
BA: Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations, University of Toronto (2011)
Interests: Sumerian and Akkadian philology and grammar, history of ancient Near Eastern religions

Justin E. Estrada
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
jestrad7@jhu.edu
MA: Durham University (2013)
MSt: University of Oxford (2010)
MDiv: Reformed Theological Seminary (2009)
BA: University of Pennsylvania (2006)

Tori Finlayson
Egyptology
tfinlay2@jhu.edu
MA: Leiden University (2016)
BA: University British Columbia (2011)

Rania Galal Darwish Suliman
Egyptology
rgalald1@jhu.edu
MA: Johns Hopkins University (2014)
BA: Helwan University (2008)

Nicholas Gill
Assyriology
ngill9@jhu.edu
MA: Classics, Queen’s University (2017)
BA: Classical Studies, Queen’s University (2015)
Interests: Divination, Ancient Science and Medicine, Sacrifice, and Near Eastern Religion

Anna Glenn
Assyriology

Peter (Joong) Lee
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
ThM, Princeton Theological Seminary (2007)
MDiv, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary (1992)
SM/SB, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1986)

Megan H. C. Lewis
Assyriology
mlewis74@jhu.edu
MPhil: Near Eastern and Cuneiform Studies, The University of Birmingham (2011)
BA: Ancient History, The University of Birmingham (2010)
Interests: Mythology, religion and literature

Rosanne Liebermann
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
rlieber7@jhu.edu
BA: Theology, University of Oxford (2013)

Kathryn Medill
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
kmedill1@jhu.edu
MA: Linguistics, Indiana University (2014)
BA: Biblical Languages and Linguistics, Geneva College (2011)

Morgan Moroney
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
mmorone2@jhu.edu
BA: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago (2010)

Laurel A. Poolman
Archaeology
lpoolma1@jhu.edu
BA: Archaeology, George Washington University (2014)
Interest: Zooarchaeology

David Rosenstein
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
helix2k@aol.com

Karlene Shippelhoute
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology
kshippe1@jhu.edu
BA: Ancient Near Eastern Civilizations and Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley (2016)

Meg Swaney
Egyptology
mswaney2@jhu.edu
MA: New York University (2013)
BA: University of Chicago (2011)

Avary Taylor
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology
aktaylor@jhu.edu
BA: Classical and Near Eastern Studies, Bryn Mawr College (2015)

Jill Waller
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
jwaller3@jhu.edu
BA: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago (2012)

Lingxin Zhang
Egyptology
lzhan100@jhu.edu
MA: Indiana University (2014)
BA: Tianjin Normal University (2012)