News & Announcements

Congratulations Near Eastern Studies Graduates

2018 graduates

Congratulations to our Near Eastern Studies graduates (from left to right): Erin Guinn-Villareal – Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitics; Marina Escolano-Poveda – Egyptology; Karen (Maggie) Bryson – Egyptology; Jennifer Swerida – Archaeology; William Reed – Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitics; and J. Caleb Howard – Assyriology (not pictured).

Graduate Student Wins Best Paper Award

paper award winner

The Department of Near Eastern Studies is proud to announce that our Egyptology graduate student, Lingxin Zhang, won first prize in the Best Student Paper Contest for “An Astrological Manual from the Tebtunis Library Concerning Women” at the American Research Center in Egypt annual conference in Tucson on April 20-22. Congratulations Lingxin!

Upcoming 2018 ANŠHE Lecture on May 1

The Graduate Students of Johns Hopkins University, Department of Near Eastern Studies present the 2018 ANŠHE Lecture with Dr. Emily Hammer, University of Pennsylvania, Middle East Center, Department of Near Eastern Studies. Dr. Hammer will give the lecture, “Digital Approaches to Historical Landscapes of the Ancient Near East.”