Graduate Students

Adam Bean
Hebrew Bible & Northwest Semitic Philology
abean5@jhu.edu
MDiv: (Hebrew Bible) Emmanuel School of Religion (2011)
BA: (Biblical Studies) Johnson University (2007)

Michael Chapin
Assyriology
mchapin5@jhu.edu
BA: Cornell University (2015)

Greg Church
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
gchurch4@jhu.edu
MDiv: Westminster Theological Seminary, California (2015)
BA: Grove City College (2012)

Stephanie Cooper
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
scoope53@jhu.edu
MA: (Old Testament Studies) Denver Seminary (2018)
BA: (International/Multicultural Studies) Evangel University (2005)

Noah Crabtree
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
ncrabtr1@jhu.edu
MA: (Bible and the Ancient Near East) Hebrew University of Jerusalem (2015)
BA: (Liberal Arts) Gutenberg College (2010)
Interests: Philology, classical prophecy

Ioana Dumitru
Near Eastern Archaeology
BA: Classical and Near Eastern Archaeology and Philosophy, Bryn Mawr College (2011)

Richard J. L. Essam
Assyriology
ressam1@jhu.edu
MA: Assyriology, Friedrich-Schiller-Universit├Ąt Jena (2015)
BA: Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations, University of Toronto (2011)
Interests: Sumerian and Akkadian philology and grammar, history of ancient Near Eastern religions

Justin E. Estrada
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
jestrad7@jhu.edu
MA: Durham University (2013)
MSt: University of Oxford (2010)
MDiv: Reformed Theological Seminary (2009)
BA: University of Pennsylvania (2006)

Tori Finlayson
Egyptology
tfinlay2@jhu.edu
MA: Leiden University (2016)
BA: University British Columbia (2011)

Marc Flores Flores
Assyriology
mflore29@jhu.edu
MA: Theoretical and Applied Linguistics, Pompeu Fabra University (2019)
MPhil: Assyriology, University of Cambridge (2018)
BA: History, University of Barcelona (2017)
Interests: Cultural and Intellectual History, Linguistic Anthropology and Ancient Near Eastern Religion

Rania Galal Darwish Suliman
Egyptology
rgalald1@jhu.edu
MA: Johns Hopkins University (2014)
BA: Helwan University (2008)

Nicholas Gill
Assyriology
ngill9@jhu.edu
MA: Classics, Queen’s University (2017)
BA: Classical Studies, Queen’s University (2015)
Interests: Divination, Ancient Science and Medicine, Sacrifice, and Near Eastern Religion

Anna Glenn
Assyriology

Chelsea Kaufman
Egyptology
ckaufm14@jhu.edu
MA: (Archaeological Studies) Yale University (2017)
BA: (Art History) Moravian College (2015)
Interests: Change, consistency, and maintenance of art and iconography in sacred and secular space with a focus on the 18th Dynasty

Kathryn Medill
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
kmedill1@jhu.edu
MA: Linguistics, Indiana University (2014)
BA: Biblical Languages and Linguistics, Geneva College (2011)

Morgan Moroney
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
mmorone2@jhu.edu
BA: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago (2010)

Paige Paulsen
Archaeology
ppaulse2@jhu.edu
MA: (Anthropology) University of Central Florida (2018)
BA: (Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations / Geography) University of Chicago (2014

Laurel A. Poolman
Archaeology
lpoolma1@jhu.edu
BA: Archaeology, George Washington University (2014)
Interest: Zooarchaeology

Maarten Praet
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
mpraet1@jhu.edu
BA: (History) KU Leuven (2014)
MA: (Ancient History) KU Leuven (2015)
MA: (Archaeology) KU Leuven (2016)
MA: (Near Eastern Studies) KU Leuven (2018)
Interests: Art and Archaeology of the Middle Kingdom

David Rosenstein
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
helix2k@aol.com

Jini Shin
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
jshin66@jhu.edu
STM: Yale Divinity School
MDiv: Harvard Divinity School
BA: Ewha Woman’s University

Karlene Shippelhoute
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology
kshippe1@jhu.edu
BA: Ancient Near Eastern Civilizations and Anthropology, University of California, Berkeley (2016)

Meg Swaney
Egyptology
mswaney2@jhu.edu
MA: New York University (2013)
BA: University of Chicago (2011)

Avary Taylor
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology
aktaylor@jhu.edu
BA: Classical and Near Eastern Studies, Bryn Mawr College (2015)

Jill Waller
Egyptian Art and Archaeology
jwaller3@jhu.edu
BA: Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago (2012)

Jason Weimar
Hebrew Bible/Northwest Semitic Philology
MA: (Archaeology) Cornell University (2017)
MDiv: Reformed Theological Seminary (2016)
BA: (History) University of Louisiana – Monroe (2012)
Interests: “Ancient South Arabian, Relationship between the Southern Levant and Yemen, Scribal Practice and Errors

Mason Wilkes
Assyriology
mwilkes4@jhu.edu
BA: (English and Comparitive Literature Studies) Occidental College (2009)
Interests: “Sumerian Myth and Literature”

Lingxin Zhang
Egyptology
lzhan100@jhu.edu
MA: Indiana University (2014)
BA: Tianjin Normal University (2012)